Alaska Governor Appoints Five to Native Language Council

Governor Sean Parnell of Alaska recently appointed five language experts to the newly created Alaska Native Language Preservation and Advisory Council (ANLPAC). Last May, Governor Parnell signed Senate Bill 130, which established ANLPAC in order to preserve Alaskan Native languages.

The members of the council include:

Stephen Walkie Charles, an assistant professor of Yup’ik Eskimo at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Delores Churchill, one of the last remaining speakers of Haida and also an acclaimed basket weaver.

April Gale Laktonen Counceller, an assistant professor of Alutiiq language and culture at Kodiak College. She is also the language manager at Alutiiq Museum.

Bernadette Yaayuk Alvanna-Stimpfle, an Inupiaq instructor at the UAF Northwest Campus and Eskimo Heritage Program Director at Kawerak Inc.

Annette Evans-Smith of Anchorage, president and CEO of the Alaska Native Heritage Center.

The council will work with state agencies and the University of Alaska to preserve and assess all languages. The council will also advise the governor on Alaskan Native language issues and file a report every two years.

VN:F [1.9.18_1163]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Alaska Governor Appoints Five to Native Language Council, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>